The year of options, choices, decisons, selections . . .

Remember, there are no mistakes, only lessons. Love yourself, trust your choices, and everything is possible. ~Cherie Carter-Scott

Let’s see, where did we leave off from this back story? Oh yes, we closed out 2011. Did we? I’m sure I forgot some things, like. . . Jill and Jim planting grass seed on their 18+ acres in late fall. And, us piggy-backing on that and planting grass along the area where we improved the slope of the land. And, prior to planting the grass, picking up rock after rock after rock for days to prepare for seeding. And, sharing in Jill and Jim’s first Christmas in their new house. Yeah, stuff like that. 🙂

It’s time to move on to 2012 . . . the year of options, decisions, choices, selections, commitment, resolution . . .  Thesaurus summed it all up! Designing and building a custom home is not for the weak of heart. Definitely not for those who are indecisive. Add to that, we’ve never done it before. If that isn’t enough, I have found through the years that I cannot conceptualize an idea in my mind unless I can see it. Always have been a visual learner. That is why it was so important for me to have that 3D house design software. My engineer husband and engineer daughter and engineer son-in-law can look at a flat house plan and immediately see what it would look like in their mind. I cannot do that. My brain does not work like that. Just ask Bill how I am. The many times I’ve said, “Oh, I didn’t realize what I drew in the floor plan was gonna be that big!” Bill was not happy when I made that comment after he built this gorgeous pantry cabinet. 🙄

IMG_1168

I have learned to appreciate all the intricacies of a flat floor plan. But, found that I need the added visual of what it will look like in imaginary real life – is there such a thing? Meaning, I really love having a 3D visual in addition to the flat plans. For example, here’s the flat floor plan of our purposed kitchen.

Kitchen floor plan

And, here is my 3D imaginary real-life picture.

Kitchen 3D

See, it helps, right?

The Indianapolis Home Show was scheduled 394058_353979954631950_137517519611529_1222070_31298405_nfor January last year. Bill and I were hoping to see various material choices for the new house all in one location. I’m not sure the home show helped us that much. We did collect bags of literature which eventually found its way into the recycle bin. However, I did fall in love with the craftsman home that was showcased. I wanted our house to look just like it, but as a one-story home. You will find out later, that’s not happening!

We did eventually decide on a house plan. This is what it looked like in spring of 2012. It has since gone through many revisions.

House plan

Back to getting our present home prepared for selling, we needed to do something about our windows. After having them professionally cleaned inside and out (thanks to an Angie’s List Big Deal), we discovered that it wasn’t dirt clouding up our bedroom window. It was a broken seal. Well, actually we knew about the seal, but I didn’t realize how bad it was until we removed all the old blinds and had the windows cleaned. We knew we would never pass inspection like this.

DSC06714

There was no easy fix. The decision came down whether we wanted to replace all the windows (except the front bay) with wooden casement (like we had) or use vinyl windows. We had three different companies give us estimates. Bill and I decided we couldn’t put vinyl windows in this house. It would change the whole look of the place. This house has all stained wood trim. It just wouldn’t look right to go vinyl. Of course, we paid out our ears and worked our behinds off by making that decision. We chose Precision Windows to install our Andersen 400 windows. Loved these guys! To save us money, Bill and I decided to stain and finish all of the components of the inside of the windows ourselves. Bill devised a plan. The windows were delivered to our house on Good Friday. Don from Precision Windows came out and helped us unbox all the windows and showed us how to take all the components apart. We sorted, we stacked, we set up everything in the garage and the pole barn. I had never stained or applied finish before. I became a quick learner. We put in many hours Friday, Saturday and Easter Sunday. Sunday evening we called Precision Windows and told them we were ready for them to install. They could not believe we had gotten it all done. Here’s a slide show showing before and after pixs.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anyone want to buy a house with updated kitchen cabinets and countertops, a new high efficiency HVAC plus new wooden casement windows?

And, if that’s not enough . . . wait until you hear what else we had to replace later in 2012.

2 thoughts on “The year of options, choices, decisons, selections . . .

    • Thanks, Doris! We’ve still never put curtains, blinds or shades up since the windows were installed. I just love looking out them. And, they open! And, they have wonderful screens. I was only able to open a couple windows in the house before we installed these new ones. So, at least, we’ve got to enjoy them for a year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

